Categories
art nigeria protest

Fighting the Protest With Talent – #EndSars

I wrote something for the youth protest going on in Nigeria.. I’m a Nigerian, I’ve been stopped once by SARS and I talk about it calmly but in the moment, I was scared…. I didn’t even tell my parents. This is a poem about our anger:

#EndSars

To sit here and write something

Honestly, that’s easy

You all out there protesting

All of you deserve praises

To everyone retweeting

Don’t stop, let’s keep fighting

…………………

Saw people supporting the protest with their talents

Till they get it, don’t stop, don’t relent

The biggest fear of being black

Shouldn’t be the fear of another who’s black

But in Nigeria, it is

No reasoning behind the violence

Rapings, killings and incompetence

Peacefully, all that we’re asking

Is an end to something unnecessary

Look, see, Notice!

No one has said ‘look at the bright side’

Because there’s no fucking silver lining

…………………

End SARS, End SWAT

No compromise, no respite

Stop killing us out of spite

Creatives, not criminals

My generation are not cowards

Stop killing our dreamers

You may have won the battles,

When you put wool over our eyes

But you’ll not win this war,

We’ve seen through your fucking lies

ENDSARS!!!!!, 2020

By Peter Wonder

Graduate of Sociology, writer, fashion enthusiast, anime fan and songwriter (simply an entertainer)

Leave a comment